Home » Daily Life » Hiding from the Cold

Hiding from the Cold

I haven’t left the house today.  I haven’t even left my pajamas.  The temperature stayed below 40 all day, and I stayed hidden away under an electric blanket. We now have 3 electric blankets in the house and they are the best investments we ever made.  Unfortunately, they encourage utter slothliness.  But, I figure I’ve earned it for today.

It has been a month since I arrived in Colorado, and I have spent many many hours sorting boxes, cleaning, organizing, and, in general, fretting about whether or not we have enough room for our basic needs.  As it turns out, we do have room, but we have had to minimize A LOT.  I have donated numerous bags of clothes to the local clothing ministry, along with various other items that we just won’t use.  Plus, there are still several boxes in the garage with miscellaneous this’s and that’s that I will probably get rid of as well.  The upside?  We are finding that a life with less isn’t all that bad.  And living in a smaller house has its advantages.  Besides being easier to clean, I can hear all of my family members in the house no matter where I go.  With a mischievous 11-year-old and a 3-month-old baby in the house, that is a HUGE benefit.

We will be finishing going through the rest of the boxes tomorrow and Tuesday, just in time for Thanksgiving.  Unfortunately, my boyfriend has to work that evening so we will be celebrating, most likely, on Tuesday.  Keeping traditions is tough on his schedule.  I’m thinking that the girls and I will spend Thanksgiving evening putting up Christmas decorations – if I can talk myself into it.  Whatever we decide, I hope to make it memorable.  This is our first big holiday away from our Florida family and I want it to be special.

One thing is for sure, it will be cold.  The forecast says this coming week is set to be a chilly one, with lows around 10 degrees by the end of the week.  Thank goodness I have these electric blankets…  I’ll see you in the spring.

Leave a Reply

