Home » Daily Life » July 14, 2017

July 14, 2017

This afternoon, my mother and stepfather arrived for a weekend visit.  It has been a little while since they saw Daisy, and she grows bigger and smarter by the day.  For almost two, she has a big vocabulary and an exuberant personality that is magnetic.  Surprisingly, Daisy and my mother, “Grammy,” have become good buddies this trip.  They sat at the table and ate blueberries, chips, cheese and sloppy joes together.  Then, they played with Daisy’s farm toys and colored with her new crayons that Mom brought. It has taken Daisy some time to warm up: She and my mom have seen each other a handful of times since they met last year.  While Daisy has allowed Grammy to be present, she hasn’t allowed much participation.  Today, she opened her heart to my mother and has even begun calling her “Grammy.”  To see my little girl begin to reach out to others for companionship and attention warms my heart.  Maybe she will form true bonds with people and learn to trust.  Maybe they will be worthy of  her.  While I know my grandmothers cared for me, I don’t recall ever sitting in their laps or them sitting on the floor to play with me.  Perhaps it was just a different generation.  But I appreciate that my mother sat in the floor tonight and played and laughed with her granddaughter and wasn’t afraid to look silly.  Those moments today are some of the happiest memories I have of my mother and this day has been her best in a long while.  Listening to the two of them talk at the dining table, watching Daisy share her new crayons with her Grammy, these are moments I will hold close on my bad days.  I should’ve taken a picture, but I was so busy enjoying the moment that I didn’t want to ruin it.  I wanted to live it.

Leave a Reply

